Light And Shadow

23 October

After almost 6 months, Koustav Da and I were free on the same day and we decided to finally do the Photo Walk which was long pending. Sadly Riza could not join because she had some work.. I missed her. Hemanta Dutta , a friend of Koustav Da was also there.

I had set my mind to learn a few things for this shoot. Firstly i wanted to see how Koustav Da looks at things and tries to frame a composition. For this shoot I decided to work with light and shadow.

My 5 Picks are :

The very first picture that I would like to put up is when he asked me to click blank shots  and try to use the sunlight to make a difference in the picture.

img_9221


Though this picture has a story of its own but the sunlight does make a difference.


I have never been to Kumartuli so Koustav Da agreed on going there. On our way I tried to find a lot of composition but the theme of light and shadow struck me and I wanted to write another blog , so I decided to stick to the plan.

The next picture took me a few tries to wait for subjects to appear in all three spaces and this is the best that I got. It will be easier to understand once you look at the picture. Koustav the pointed out a triangle in the picture and that certainly made the picture interestingimg_9273


The three heads form the triangle.


The following picture is interesting because of its colours. It has a warm colour as well as a contrasting cold one. I wish I would have got the silhouette of the persons fingers as well, that would have been more dynamic.

img_9283


Correctly noticed, this image has a triangle of its own.


The next image was a bit difficult to take as I was a bit short for it. I was trying to balance on my toes in order to get the proper desired frame. Seeing this Koustav Da offered to lift me up and recommended that I should join a Ballet Class. I lost my balance, laughing hard and then said “Things we do for Photography!” ( GOT reference ) But later I managed to get the shot on my toes.

img_9286


Can you spot the Ganesha?


After this we went to Kumartuli Ghat. The wind was so amazing. We tried to get good shots of birds flying in flocks but the lighting wasn’t that good and also we couldn’t frame it well. This is the last picture which I took when we came back to Kumartuli to experience the night life there, and trust me it’s so beautiful, one shouldn’t miss it.

img_9361


This shot was interrupted by so many people who had to walk down this lane.


Apart from photography

We had cold drinks before starting the walk even though Koustav Da had a cold, by the way it was his idea. Also we clicked selfies at the ghat. Perks of being out with him is getting amazing pictures and of course I got mine. Before returning we had Phuchkas, it turned out to so spicy that I had to buy a Cadbury Dairy Milk. All in all it was a great day.

Leave a comment